Meg & Martha

it's a not-so-good thing

Falls here, Bitches

It’s October and that feels all-things-fall are in the air. Anyone who knows me, knows that this is my favorite holiday for many many reasons. The food, the holidays, and pumpkins. I love anything almost anything that has to do with pumpkins. I mean, Dunkin Donuts pumpkin syrup is a gift from the devil that should destroyed upon first sip. I kicked off fall with a surprise for my dearest pumpkin, Jaimee. I made her a delicious rendition of broccoli cheddar soup that I found on the cover of the october edition of Food Network Magazine. It was such a process, but completely worth it.  I would say to prep first, because trying to prep while cooking just made me stressed and it went smoother when I chopped/peeled everything. Also, I learned that peeling celery really enhances the flavor, Thanks Alex. And I definitely reccoment thining it out with water while cooking the last step

20111012-112353.jpg

 

 

And while I didn’t make this centerpiece, I think it looks so easy and can not wait to do it for my Thanksgiving dinner. It makes such a nice presentation and sometimes, you can’t find a vase when you’re trying to entertain too. This solves all problems. Jaim, her mother, and I went to a Pumpkin Patch to enjoy the beautiful weather and these were on every table at the Hard Cider Tasting (bought a bottle of the Cherry Moon- delish!) Maybe I will be doing these for some upcoming nuptials for two of my very dear friends.

20111012-114445.jpg

 

And this was the crowning jewel. It even looks like a gemstone. Well, maybe that’s just the butter making me delerious, but this acron squash was just about the most delicious thing I have ate in a long time. I even put a little less butter than it called for and it was still melt-in-you-mouth good. I highly reccomend going to your local farmers market befor winter comes and grabbing up some squash. Find a good recipe online by a simple Google search. I found a simple butternut squash recipe that involved 2 tbs oil, a garlic clove, and some parmesean cheese. Thats it. and it was just like roaster potatoes. Try it.

 

20111012-114516.jpg

Hope you can all get out and enjoy the beautiful fall we are having— despite the rain today.

Happy Harvest everyone,
M

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

